● How much marijuana can I get in a month?
In Connecticut, patients are allowed a maximum of 2.5 ounces a month- unless a physician directs otherwise.
● Do I have to have a medical marijuana card to purchase from a dispensary in CT?
In order to purchase from a marijuana dispensary, patients are required to have a medical marijuana card.
● Will medical insurance cover my medical marijuana card fees?
Connecticut law does not require health insurers to cover medical marijuana related costs. We, therefore, do not bill insurance companies.
● How much does it cost to get my medical marijuana card in CT?
Most medical marijuana certification providers charge anywhere from $175-$200. Here at the THC Clinic, we charge $150 for the initial visit and $125 for re-certifications.
● My medical condition is not on the list, is there a way to get it added?
At the THC clinic we advocate for our patients. If you have a debilitating condition and think that medical marijuana would help please inquire by contacting us
● How long will it take for me to get my card once I certify?
After your application for a medical marijuana card in Connecticut is approved, getting a card takes around 30 days. Upon approval, patients receive a temporary certificate through an email from the DCP. Renewals are much quicker than the initial application.
● How long does my medical marijuana certification last?
In the state of CT the medical marijuana certification only lasts one year. You will need to re-certify every year.
BE PREPARED FOR YOUR VISIT
STEP 1 – MEDICAL RECORDS
Every patient looking for medical marijuana certification will need to provide medical records stating at least one qualifying condition. You do not need to provide your entire medical records, but only a record stating your qualifying condition. For example, a copy of the visit note from a physician who primarily treats your qualifying condition at present, or a letterhead from your primary care physician or specialist stating your qualifying condition.
If available, we highly recommend that you include information about the tests and treatments you have had for your qualifying condition. If you are unsure whether the records you currently have are sufficient and would like the physician to review your records before scheduling an appointment, we provide such service free of charge.
HOW TO SUBMIT YOUR RECORDS (IF YOU ALREADY HAVE THEM):
You can upload it directly to our medical records system at the time of filling in pre-visit electronic patient forms or send it to our secure fax: (475) 522-2230.
HOW TO OBTAIN YOUR RECORDS:
Please contact your primary care physician or a specialist who established the diagnosis and/or is treating you for the qualifying condition at present.
CT LAWS AND REGULATIONS and Research
CT Laws and Regulations for Medical Marijuana
Medical Marijuana Program
Center for Medical Cannabis Research
International Cannabinoid Research Society
The International Association of Cannabinoid Medicines